I Turned On Twitter


twitter_logoI did it.

I said I wouldn’t, but I did. I’m now on Twitter (@peglegwebdesign)

My handle isn’t plural because Twitter won’t take one more character for my handle name. Far be it from me to bitch about adding one more character to a handle name. I mean, you can only be allowed to type in 140 characters for a tweet, for Christ sake.

This leads me to my dilemma.

I’m a bit chatty. Additionally, I have to admit that although I swore off Twitter for awhile since I didn’t see any use for it, the statistics and advantages to a small business having Twitter left me with no alternative. Lastly, since I’m going thru the National Institute of Social Media to gain my Certification in Social Media, I had better walk the walk.

I have been delaying using Twitter for months, but I’m finding that it’s becoming quite useful, popular and in a word – efficient, to express your brand personality. Since I only blog once a week, I figured I can tweet to my heart’s content! It also allows direct engagement with your audience – almost in real time if someone is anxiously awaiting your tweet. Hell, I can type 140 characters in ten seconds or less. No seriously. I can…without mistakes.

I also like the fact that I can build relationships with certain audience members on Twitter. I’m a huge fan of Jeff Bullas and I’m going to follow him. (Don’t worry, Jeff. I won’t stalk you).  I’m hoping that after we interact for a bit, he may want to follow me.

But, mostly, I can tweet things that aren’t necessarily about my business. I can tweet whatever is on my mind. That’s the strategy of Twitter. It should be engaging, but not stuffy.

For you Twitter beginners just like me, here’s a few tips:

1. Interact and don’t be afraid to jump in on a conversation. I’m not a shy person, so this won’t be an issue for me. But, if you are shy and one of your resolutions is to become more social, this is a good way to start.

2. When you are tweeting someone or replying to a tweet, your tweet will start with the Twitter name (including the @ sign) of the person you are tweeting to. In this case, only the person you are tweeting or someone who is following both you and the person you are tweeting will see your tweet. But, if you want others to see the conversation and jump on the tweet train (say that fast three times), write your comment first and then put the person’s Twitter name in the middle or the end of your tweet. That way, it is open to anyone following you.

3. There are a lot of ways to tweet. I don’t think I realized what I was getting into here….

  • You can tweet to someone specific. You start the tweet with that person’s Twitter name (which starts with @). That tweet will only be seen by the person you are tweeting. So, if you want to talk about how you danced on the bar with your bra off the night before, feel free.
  • You can tweet multiple people at once by using all their names with a space separating each of them.
  • You can retweet.
  • You can reply to a tweet.
  • If more than one person is mentioned in a tweet you can reply to all.
  • You can block a user who is a spammer or someone you don’t want.
  • You can send someone who is following you a DM (direct message). (If you are not following them back, they will not be able to reply to you through a direct message.) This reminds me of Facebook. Which also reminds me….. don’t open up any links in any DM messages from Twitter. Just like Facebook, it probably contains some sort of virus or someone trying to hack into your account.

4. I’m just happy to be able to have conversations with people I wouldn’t normally have a conversation with. I can read these individual blogs and marvel at their expertise in any given array of topics, but they can’t hear me thru my computer screen saying, “You’re a rock star, and I dig that shit.”

Lastly, I hear that Twitter is addictive. I say no to this. Do you know what’s addictive?

Pinterest is addictive.

Potato chips are addictive.

Starbucks is addictive.

Twitter? We’ll soon find out how addictive it really is.

