Vertigo: The Brain’s Thrill Ride


My life is like a rollercoaster in more than one way.

I am the victim of Meniere’s Syndrome which eventually caused my hearing loss in both ears…which caused me to get bi-lateral cochlear implants back in February of 2009. Before and since that time, I’ve suffered the endless battle of vertigo. That sudden feeling of spinning which results in vomiting, nausea, lightheadedness, sweating, feeling faint and overall yuckiness.

There is no cure for it, but there are exercises that you can do to help minimize the frequency of your vertigo visits. I had to work with a therapist after I had my cochlear surgery because my dizziness was worse than normal, and he showed me a few tricks which I’ve used since then to help me with my battle.

So, in reading this you’re probably thinking, “Well, that’s great! No harm done! You can go on with your daily activities without any cause for concern.” I’d like to think that as well, but evidence from what occurred yesterday to me just reminds me that vertigo strikes whenever it wants and an individual has little time to react.

I wish I knew what causes the onset of vertigo, but I don’t. Every situation that I recall feeling the onset of the dreaded room spinning has been under different circumstances. This latest round was when I was outside walking my dogs before we left for my son’s baseball game. I just stood there….and then held my head to try to control the spinning.

I insisted we go to the game, because I wasn’t going to let this slow me down….bad idea. We weren’t there for more than 5 minutes when I started sweating and had a difficult time walking. Falling asleep is the only remedy I have to reduce the amount of spinning, so basically I spend alot of time sleeping lately.

I suppose the reason for this post is strictly out of frustration. This morning, when I woke up, I was still shakey. That’s the best word I can use to describe how I felt. The heaviness in my head was still evident, and my thoughts were foggy and thick.

I decided to walk my dog to see how far I could get and started on some therapy exercises. Amazingly enough, I started to feel slightly better. But, after sitting at my computer typing up this blog, I feel the wave of dizziness only a short distance away. It seems that if I focus on something for too long, I’ve set myself up for a miserable experience.

Perhaps an egg timer next to my computer would remind me to move around every hour??? If anyone is reading this and you suffer from vertigo, I would love to hear some solutions that you’ve used and have benefited from and could possibly help me.

thanks – Nancy

Leave a Reply

