Baking, Baking and More Baking


Although I love to bake year round, I don’t typically make it a weekly practice of mine to camp out in my kitchen for a day and a half to bake seven different kinds of Christmas cookies. Yeah – SEVEN. I admit, I went overboard this year.

I try to talk myself into only making five different kinds because I don’t want to start hating the task of baking the cookies, since when I start the task I normally look forward to it with happiness and  joy rather than the disdain and disgust I would normally end up feeling after say, TEN different types of cookies I and my oven slaved away at for probably at least 3 days. 

Why do I make so many? Ask the man in my head.

Really.

I typically hand them out as gifts to my neighbors (or rather, make Matt do it since this seems to be the only time my neighbors ever see him these days),  and I also have Dave bring them to work or if memory serves me correctly, I used to bring them to my old workplace, Tellabs. 🙂

One thing I am known for at Christmastime is my cookies. Yes, Alec Baldwin’s Schweaty Balls have NOTHING on my Christmas cookies. My cookies are just as tender as his famous Schweaty Balls, and I’ve got witnesses to prove it.

Cookies for 2010

So, what you see to the left is a picture of a few of each cookie I made and I labeled them so you knew what they looked like since I’m about to list just one of the recipes from this photo. If you want other cookie recipes that you see here, please feel free to comment, and I’ll be happy to post it, and provide credit from where I got the recipe.

The MOST popular cookie recipe, and which has been handed down from generation to generation in my family is our homemade Kolashky. The dough is easier to make than you would think, and it handles much better than any other dough I’m familiar with. The result is a cookie that literally melts in your mouth with a bit of sweetness in the middle from the fruit filling.

Homemade Kolashky by my Aunt Haddie:

2 sticks of Imperial Margarine

2 sticks of butter

4 cups of flour

3 egg yolks

1 cup of sour cream

Solo Fruit Fillings such as Apricot, Raspberry or Almond.

Make sure the margarine and butter are at room temperature and place into a large bowl. With a pie blender, cut the margarine, butter and flour together until you have a coarse, pebble looking dough.

In a small bowl, mix the egg yolks and sour cream together and then incorporate it into the flour mixture. Keep mixing with your hands until the dough no longer sticks to your hands or the bowl. If you measured the flour right, you shouldn’t need to add anything additional – it turns out perfect every single time!

Pull apart dough into manageable parts and place on a well floured surface. Flour your rolling pin and begin to flatten out the dough to about 1/4″ thick. Typical kolashky are square pieces of dough with filling in the middle and the two of the corners are “pinched” together to make an envelope with openings at the top and bottom of each cookie.

I like to use different sized cookie cutters, using the larger one for the bottom, placing a small dollop of filling in the middle, and then placing a smaller sized cutter piece on top to make a “sandwich”.

Place in a 350 degree oven for about 12 minutes, or until you start to see the cookies lightly browned. You do NOT want browned cookies, or else they will not be tender.

Once they are completely cooled, sprinkle with powdered sugar and enjoy!

This recipe makes alot, depending on how big you want to make each cookie, but a typical batch will yield you 4 – 5 dozen.

Leave a Reply

