Are We Gonna Stick With “It” This Year??


It’s January 1st, 2011.

A new year.

Which means for alot of people, promising to resolve something in previous years that would make you a better person. A more improved you! You woke up this morning and instead of sitting on the couch watching TV,  you decided to go to the gym. Good for you!

The top choices for this year’s resolutions are really no different from any other year:

1. Quit Smoking

2. Lose Weight

3. Get More Exercise

4. Make More Time for Family

5. Save More Money

I don’t believe in proposing resolutions to myself. If I intend on doing something to improve my well being, or fix a problem I’m encountering, or get rid of someone in my life, I don’t need a resolution to do it. I don’t need to wait until January 1st to make major life changes in my life.

 I Just Do It.

Never being a procrastinator, I’ve always been the early riser. Getting stuff done so I have more time to get other stuff done. The endless revolving door of time management was  well oiled, constantly maintained and unfaltering. I can probably attain 5 goals in one day to another person’s 1 goal. I’m not bragging about this fact because to me, it became an obsession.

It’s hard to just sit back and not do something…..just lay there and not move. But, my health forced me to do that very thing in 2010. So, when I was forced to slow down (possibly someone’s resolution for 2011), I noticed something about myself.

I was too driven to complete my tasks that I didn’t take in the fact that maybe others needed my assistance. I mean, I was always there for my son and husband…but what about serving my time toward something I was really passionate about?

So, I made a decision. Or, shall I say resolution? I’m giving back this year, and want to make a difference in people’s as well as dog’s lives. I’m starting with a charity called Fairydogparents.org. Simply put, this organization’s goal is to prevent dogs from being given up by their loving owners because they can no longer care for them.

Reasons can range from a sudden physical disability, to being laid off from your job and you can’t afford to feed or buy medicine for your dog.  I get to be a part of helping these owners keep their pets, by either providing food, advertising about the needs and benefits of this wonderful organization, and help be a liason between a foster parent and a Fairy Dog parent with veterinarians.

Although this organization is in Massachusetts, I have volunteered my time to create marketing items, help with mailings and be an advocate on speaking about Fairy Dog Parents so that others may want to volunteer their time or donate to this worthy organization.

Dogs to me are like children. I’ve had a dog ever since I was a little girl, and I can’t imagine my life without one, two or three of them around me…so I can stumble over them in the middle of the night, or get their wet noses in my face when I wake up in the morning.

Can you imagine giving up your beloved dog because you couldn’t care for it any longer? It’s heartbreaking for the people who have to go thru this, and the Fairy Dog Parents Organization prevents this from happening.

That’s my first step in giving back this year. I didn’t start doing this today. I actually started the process earlier this week when I saw it on the “Nightly News” during their “Make a Difference” segment.

So, if you decide to make a resolution this year and want to start it today, then stick with it. But, you don’t have to wait until January 1, 2012 to make a difference in your life if you missed making a difference today….you can just do it anytime you want.

After all, life’s too short to keep waiting around to make that major change in your life, isn’t it??

Have a great 2011 everyone!

Leave a Reply

