Bears, Packers and Fans…Oh My!


I remember it like it was yesterday……

(Fists pounding on the table)…..”DAMNIT! I CAN PLAY BETTER FOOTBALL THAN YOU!”

“WHAT THE HELL ARE YOU DOOOOIINNNGGGG?????!!!”

“LEARN TO THROW THE BALL, WILL YA??”

Those are all quotes from my Dad….edited of course for PG viewers.

Every Sunday I would hear him yelling at the TV. When I was younger, I could  have cared less about football or any other sport for that matter. I was a Pom Pom Girl (A Proud Lancette), dancing, jumping and twirling during halftime and competitions. I stayed away from the living room on Sundays…..I was scared. Looking at my dad, who was red in the face and veins popping from his neck, I felt it wasn’t a really good time to have “family time.” with him…LOL

At home, I quickly learned about the Bears/Packers rivalry and how passionate fans on both sides are about winning.

Now that I’m a grown adult, with a son who actively plays football, along with a husband who played college ball and a nephew who did the same, I have decent knowledge (for a chick), on the sport of football, and am passionate about the game. I make sure that Sunday afternoons are not interrupted. If they are, someone had better be dead or near death in order to drag me away from the TV…..especially now.

Sunday is the big match up. This will be the game of all games. This determines once and for all in my generation, who’s the best of this multi-generation rivalry. Who will end up going to the Superbowl? Which team has what it takes to win the NFC Championship?

The Bears of course.

I was born in Chicago and raised in Bear territory. I’ve watched them play every single game this season, and although they didn’t win against the Pack during one of their match ups (we lost 10 – 3),  I would guess that our team has grown quite significantly since then. Not only in precision and teamwork, but they’re healthy. I don’t think as of this writing any of the Bears players are on the DL list.

As far as the Packers go, they’ve provided to be a formidable opponent as evidence of them meeting the Bears at Soldier Field on Sunday for a final game.

The emails, social media and news is lit up this week with jokes, threats and fun bets, and the Packers Fans take their team seriously just like Bears Fans do.

But, we’re playing on our field. Soldier Field is our home, and the Packers aren’t walking in our door, sitting down to dinner and leaving with any of our fine crystal.

That trophy stays at home. Where it belongs.

I believe in the Bears this year. Normally, I’m a skeptic at things of this nature. Experts are saying that the Packers could win by 3, but I’m going to say that’s not gonna happen.

Why?

Because the Bears Fans that will be at Soldier’s Field on Sunday, and for those watching at home, are going to provide some extreme positive energy to our Bears Players on the field, it won’t be possible to lose.

So, on Sunday please do me a favor: Since Bears won last Sunday, let’s all repeat the same routine we did last Sunday for good Karma….Wear the same clothes, do the same things, say a positive affirmation, do prayer beads, prayer at your Bear Altar, rub your genie lamp, rabbits foot or whatever it is you do for good luck.

And, let’s all sing the Bears Song Together!!!!! GO BEARS!

“Bear down, Chicago Bears, make every play clear the way to victory;
Bear down, Chicago Bears, put up a fight with a might so fearlessly.
We’ll never forget the way you thrilled the nation with your T-formation.
Bear down, Chicago Bears, and let them know why you’re wearing the crown.
You’re the pride and joy of Illinois, Chicago Bears, bear down!!!”

 

 

Leave a Reply

