Tech Overload


Social media affects 1 in 4 of us daily. Not only do people use it to reconnect with old friends and keep in touch with relatives, but they also use it to find jobs, boyfriends and/or girlfriends, a place to live, a place to escape or all three.

In my field, I market my business on two different social media sites: Facebook and LinkedIn. There are others who choose to use Twitter, the new Google+, Four Square…the list goes on and on. How do you manage all of these social media sites? Is there truly a need to be a part of all of them at the same time?

I guess it’s a cultural preference and for what you are aiming for. But, if you are into marketing your site online, businesses are now expected to be a part of multiple networking sites, manage those sites and still handle your day to day tasks. If you ask me, this sounds like a new job description: Social Media Assistant.

Your new Social Media Assistant can help you juggle all those networking sites, or you can become the efficient business owner that you are and streamline your social media networking by reposting the same content only once thru sites like OnlyWire, Ping.fm and HelloTxt.

When I see someone on Facebook stating that they’ve checked into “so and so” thru Four Square or whatever social media device they’re using, do I really care where they are at any given second of the day? No. But, apparently, they want everyone else to know where they are – kind of like a social media GPS device. I wonder if they have one for the bathroom…..

Want to feel like a loser? go onto sites like Klout where users’ influence scores to rank them in an online hierarchy. Each user is assigned a number from 1 to 100. If you rate in the teens, you’re pretty much average (and, most of us are average). If you rate in the 30 – 50 range, you have a pretty good following – I will never reach this mark since I only have 12 likes on my own website, yet get hundreds of hits to my blog (go figure). However, if you reach 100, you’re Lady Gaga. As you can see, your rating can be your highest achievement. Kind of like reaching Maslow’s Hierarchy of self actualization (a.k.a. you can think you are Tom Cruise for a brief moment). Or it can have the opposite affect – you desperately want to down a whole wine box of Franzia, wear tight spandex and bungee jump with a cord a tad bit too long.

All of this leads me to believe we are in tech overload. Spending too much time on social media sites, responding to endless emails and a constant barrage of text messages makes me think that we are becoming alienated from one another and the principle philosphy of what human beings do: Interface with one another thru talking, and enjoying one another’s company….in person.

So, how much time do you spend on social media sites? What do you use social media sites for? I, for one, use it to market my business. Yes, Pegleg Web Designs has a fan page (Become a Fan)! (A shameless plug, but it IS my blog). I’ll post blog postings, latest launches of websites, new clients, upcoming events on certain groups I belong to in order to promote them and to gain additional members, etc.

From a personal standpoint, it’s good to keep connected with my family. My sister and I, my niece and nephew use mostly FB to correspond…or email. I get to catch up on what my cousins are up to since I only see them at funerals and weddings. On the flip side, I’ve managed to reconnect with people from high school that I had the best time with and discover how their lives have changed (for better or worse). I, in turn, get to tell them about my life’s saga and they no longer want to be my friend. But, they reluctantly do so out of pity.

I have read that on average, people spend about thirty minutes a day satisfying their social media cravings. This is a lie.  This is like saying you’ve only had a few potato chips, but have actually eaten the whole bag. (notice the image, family :)).  I can tell you for a fact, that I will log in once in the morning, and once during lunch. In the evening, I will keep it on and check it thruout the night. I sometimes see people who have been on for hours. My guess is that they are instant messaging friends online or Playing Farmville or Mafia Wars.

Just an aside for those who like to play these applications, or for anyone who wants to hand out gifts for birthdays, holidays, etc. These applications will suck all of your profile information and use it for other purposes. They are also a nice nesting place for viruses. So, when they ask to “allow” to have access to your personal information, walk away from the computer.

Walk, I say.

If you don’t, you’ll start posting pictures of nude women on your friends’ walls and spreading more viruses. Well, you aren’t personally, but your computer is thanks to that nasty virus you’ve received.  It’s not sexual innuendo here – I’ve seen this happen. Embarrassing? Yes. However, unlike an STD, you can rid your computer of a virus.

Tech overload – good or bad, we’ve entered the world of social media thru all facets of daily living. You can check it at home, in your car (which you shouldn’t unless you have a chauffeur), train, walking (which could be deadly), blah, blah, blah….

So, tell me (for those of you who read my blog (and for God sakes, I WISH you would subscribe!), tell me how often you use social media, what kind you use and what you use it for.

Leave a Reply

