The Best of Christmas


We are four days away….FOUR – until Christmas Day. Our family celebrates on Christmas Eve, so for me, it’s really three days away, but who cares…..

So, this got me thinking: People have so many “favorites” when it comes to, “All Things Christmas,” I thought I would put together a Best of Christmas List.

Best Christmas Movie – Most people would say, “It’s a Wonderful Life.” Although I like the movie, it’s suuuuper long. And, if you’ve seen if for like, the 20th time, you lose interest and start meandering around aimlessly with no particular goal in mind subconsciously to get away from the damn movie. So, I’ll go with the second best….”White Christmas.” Vera-Ellen, the size ZERO “sister” to Rosemary Clooney, is such a great dancer with Danny Kaye, and I love the storyline….makes me all teary eyed. Ok – over it.

Best Christmas Cookie – For me, hands down….homemade Kolashky. It doesn’t get any better than our family’s fourth generation recipe. I’m sure you have your own favorites, so let’s hear ’em…..

Best Place to Get Christmas Gear – You know what I’m talking about: Decorating the house, fa, la, la la, la’ing all over the place with garland, tinsle, ornaments, mistletoe. I used to go to Target, but people get kinda pushy around the Christmas section, and if you don’t get there, like, right after Thanksgiving the stuff is already picked over. My new favorite place is Pier One! I LOVE PIER ONE. They’ve got the funkiest ornaments – yet you turn the corner, and all the classics are there as well. They’ve got everything you need to decorate your home – including all that stemware for your alcoholic family (I should know)….

Best Christmas Song – Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song.” Don’t even argue with me about this one! Who doesn’t love chestnuts roasting on an open fire? I, for one, have never roasted chestnuts on an open fire for fear of getting burned to death, but I bet they’re good! And, we all know that Jack Frost wouldn’t be nipping at your nose, but I have a dog that will…..for free.

Best Holiday Tradition – Well, that could be anything. Families have all sorts of family traditions. Ours is to get an ornament with the year on it, and I get my son, Matt, an advent calendar with little chocolates in it. Even though he’s in college now, I still get it for him and have him open up  the days he’s missed so he can catch up 🙂 And, I have a feeling our first annual Martini Contest this year, will be a tradition from here on out…I taste success and it hasn’t even happened yet! What’s you favorite family tradition?

Best Outside Decoration ever invented – Icicle Lights. They’re pretty, festive and easy to put up….as long as you don’t stick the cord in the gutter and then it freezes – then it’s not so easy to take down. I have to say the WORST outside decoration are the large plastic nativity scenes…or santa and reindeer. Dave wants to shoot them like a duck at a traveling carnival.

Best Animated Christmas Cartoon – “Rudolph The Red Nosed Reindeer.” I’m the doll with the psychological problems, and I like Yukon Cornelius just because he’s constantly sticking he’s ice pick into the snow to find gold, tasting it and saying, “Nothin’.” My second best is “Suzy Snowflake” and “Hard Rock, Coco and Joe,” although the Santa in Hard Rock scares the crap out of me…..and I think he looks Asian….not that there’s anything wrong with that. You can watch the whole cartoon of Rudolph right here:

Happy Holidays!!!!

3 thoughts on “The Best of Christmas

  1. Okay, a few thoughts… Those ARE the two best Christmas movies ever–right behind Lethal Weapon and Die Hards I and II. Chestnuts is a great song, but in addition to Nat King Cole, Mel Torme should always be credited for having written it. NEVER actually eat one! Roasted chestnuts taste like road kill. I’ve tried them–chestnuts, not road kill. As for those ubiquitous white reindeer in three wooden pieces, I’ve always wanted someone to build a towering T-Rex version with one of the white reindeer–dripping red–grasped tightly in its mouth. “Hey kids, look at THAT!” Merry Christmas!

  2. Dave tried Road Kill during his “Ranger” days, and Chestnuts taste much better. And, I totally believe you with the T-Rex version with blood dripping from it’s mouth – it’s totally you!!!!

Leave a Reply

