Christmas Music – “I Can’t Get It Out of My Head….”


I wake up to the oddest songs in my brain. This morning, it was “Dancing in the Moonlight.” I thought the song was by Cat Stevens, by my husband, who should have been a DJ in a previous life, said the song is from Kings Harvest:

You know the song, right? Maybe. Maybe not. But, how the hell I woke up with the song, is beyond me.

The point I’m trying to make (and I do have a point here), is that Christmas music is the same way. Certain songs just stick in your brain to the point of hearing nails scratching on a chalkboard sounds better than having to listen to the same song in your head over and over and over again. Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree? OMG…..where’s my butter knife so I can “kill myself softly with this song….”(Aretha Franklin), but I digress….

Sleigh Ride – I love, love, LOVE this song!!!! The jingling of the sleigh bells in the background makes me nod my head up and down until I get dizzy and pass out. Maybe because of it’s snappy, perky pace it makes me happy. I don’t know. I don’t care. It puts me in the Christmas mood:

I am grateful for Christmas music since it is the only music my brain immediately identifies. However, I’m only grateful until December 24th, and then it can shut the hell up. Malls, stores, my computer…they are all playing Christmas music. My husband refused – REFUSED to listen to Christmas music as I forced him at gunpoint to help me put Christmas ornaments on the tree. (picture perfect family moment here)  I normally wouldn’t resort to such drastic measures, but I handle the ornament task every. single. year. It’s a family Christmas tree (emphasis on “family” here), right???

It’s November 24, 2012, and I have listened to Christmas music for over a week now. I’m not tired of it yet because I haven’t heard all the songs at least twice. But there are a few songs I could probably do without:

Silver and Gold by Burl Ives (Sorry Burl Ives lovers. Although I’m a huge Rudolph fan, this song makes me comatose).

Little Drummer Boy. You can “Pa rum pum pum pum….” it into the ground.  It’s like beating a dead horse. Who thought up these lyrics? I could have written this myself and won a Grammy for all the “pa rum pum pum pum’s” in this damn song.

O Christmas Tree. Another song that repeats itself. Yes, we know its leaves are so unchanging….It’s a damn evergreen!

Alright, alright – I won’t be a scrooge. I’ll end this with one of my all time favorite songs (along with Sleigh Ride). Although it’s slow, I sing it to my husband as he covers his ears since I just love the lyrics:

2 thoughts on “Christmas Music – “I Can’t Get It Out of My Head….”

  1. Suck it, Marcia. “Marcia! Marcia! Marcia!” Ok – yeah, you’re right. Roberta Flack. How about a little R-E-S-P-E-C-T???? Now, THAT’S Aretha!!!! LMAO!!!!

Leave a Reply

