A Web Designer’s Nightmare – Don’t Make Me Slit My Wrists….


imagesI recently read a blog post that had me laughing out loud. It was from a web designer who had stated he would die an early death because of the consistent and ridiculous questions some clients ask of us.

We are Web Designers, not magicians. We are also not Web Developers. If you want a website like Nordstrom, but want it for $1,000 bucks, you’re climbing up the wrong mouse cable.

Here’s a few good ones I’ve run into. If you’re a fellow web designer, I’m sure you have as well:

1. “I want to have a website completed about my business showcasing my artwork and want to sell it online. What do you charge for that?”

That’s like me saying to a custom home builder, “I want a house.  a big house. How much do you charge for that?”

Get my point?

Generalization is not a good thing when you provide costs to a client. EVER. So I’ll often ask them what their budget is. Then it leads to this:

2. “Well, I have no idea. YOU’RE the Designer. You tell me!” A discussion ensues about online goals, what they want out of the site, I’ll make some general suggestions  and give them a rough estimate.

“Wow. I wasn’t expecting it to be that much.”

“What’s your budget then?”

“$200.00”

(silence….crickets chirping….)

I don’t know about you, fellow website designer, but this is an insult to me.

My pricing is on my website.  I also don’t put a tent up in my Sahara desert marketplace and barter for services. I could make my own baskets and do that, but darnit! I don’t have the time. I don’t know how to make baskets either.

I’m pretty damn affordable considering other companies out there, so if you want a template site with no SEO, go right ahead. Just remember: You get what you pay for and you’ll never be found online which is the entire purpose of building a website.

clown3. Now, this one I love….”Can we make it more colorful? I’d like a lot of color to be on my site.”

Really? A clown likes a lot of color on his face too, but that just makes him silly and scary at the same time.

Being a Web Designer, you hired me for my expertise (at least this is what I’m assuming), so if I give you three different designs with colors we discussed previously and you want to change your choice to include the entire spectrum of the rainbow, I’m going to say no and explain with my expertise and knowledge about web design why I’m saying no to their colorful request.

I want to give the client what they want, but they are not the professional when it comes to web design. If they fight me, I’m out. This girl has standards and so should every other web designer out there. Know when to say no!

4. “I’ve got images! Lots of them! See the attached word doc.”

(whaaaaat???)

A word document is for WORDS, not images. Images should be sent in a zip file (if you have a lot of them) in a .JPEG, .PNG or .GIF format. There’s also a cool site called Dropbox. It’s also free.

And, the best part is that the images the client gave you were taken with an instant polaroid camera. polaroid camera

If you want your site to evoke professionalism, especially when you want to showcase a product, the images of that product need to be high quality. Photoshop can only go so far in helping correct really bad images.

I can take images for you based on my hourly rate. If you’re not sure about the quality of the images I take, you can go onto this blog and check out the other pages (Random Photography, Aerial PhotographyPhotography From Paris). I took all of them myself. Really.

5. “Can you put this restaurant menu up on my site for me? See the word doc attached.” Again (say it with me…..a word document is for WORDS). Any attachment used as a link for a site should be in a PDF format (at least most are and NONE are word documents due to the extraneous code and nastiness it plays with browsers). If you don’t know how to convert a word document into a PDF format, I’ll give you a little 101:

  • In your word document go under Save As
  • You’ll see plenty of choices. One of them is PDF
  • Hit Save

DONE.

comic sans6. Last but not least, the infamous Comic Sans font. This non-comical font was developed for comic books back in 1994. It evokes a fun, quirky look; like a clown would evoke a fun, quirky look. Then again, clowns are also scary.

Please do me a favor and don’t ask for Comic Sans font if you want a professional business website. If you use Comic Sans, it only makes your site look like a dime store novelty item. It’s cheap looking and not meant to be taken seriously.

Leave a Reply

