Back To School All Time Best Snacks


I’m 49 years old, but I still remember what my mom put in my lunchbox during grade school.

When I was a kid, there was no such thing as a hot lunch. Every once in a while we were graced with the presence of having “hamburger day.” This meant a regular McDonald’s hamburger and small fries.

brownbag lunch.jpegThere were no happy meals. There were no toy prizes, although Cracker Jack had toy prizes and they were way better than they are now. Does Cracker Jack still have toy prizes in them?

Anyway, I digress. Mashable came up with the 25 best lunch snacks ever. Ever? Whoever wrote this piece clearly isn’t as old as I am. Here is the list they came up with:

  • Gushers
  • Airheads
  • Fruit Roll Ups
  • Fruit By The Foot
  • Trix Yogurt
  • Go-Gurt
  • Dunkaroos
  • Uncrustables
  • Squeeze-its
  • Shark Bites
  • Pringles
  • Ritz Bitz Sandwiches
  • Cheetos
  • Capri Sun
  • Cheez Nips
  • Goldfish
  • Teddy Grahams
  • Wonderball
  • Oreos
  • Sunny-D
  • Raisins
  • Chewy Granola Bars
  • Applesauce
  • Jif To Go (not allowed!!! It has peanuts!)
  • Sprinkl-ins (what the hell are these?)

The ones that were around when I was in grade school were raisins, oreos, pringles, and cheetos.

Although applesauce was around when I was growing up, it wasn’t in a clever little container. I remember my mom putting hot soup in a thermos for me. Do kids even use aThermos-Group-AA0705-de thermos anymore?

Where is pudding on this list? Jello? Bill Cosby would not be happy right about now.

My mother always used to make me the same sandwich every single day: white bread with spiced ham, sweet pickles and mayo. To this day, my lips will not touch spiced ham or sweet pickles.

I would have KILLED for  a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, but no one wanted to trade me for my hideous spiced ham sandwich with thinly sliced sweet pickles.

I may have posted this fact on a different blog, but I still can’t understand that my husband has never had a PB&J in any shape or form since exiting his mother’s womb. He’s never eaten a banana either. When I asked him what his mother would pack him for lunch he simply looked at me deadpanned and said, “rocks and dirt.”

Half of the stuff on the list from Mashable is chewy fruit thingies. They are just put into different shapes and packaged to be eaten differently. Gushers, fruit roll ups, fruit by the foot, and shark bites are all the same if you ask me. They are all saturated with fake fruit flavoring, but they are just shaped differently to cater to the coolness factor for kids to eat their daily intake of fruits and vegetables. (pssssst. These aren’t really fruits).

Raisins can be dangerous. If the kid is young, a raisin can be a dangerous food. I remember one of my friends stuck one up her nose. Perhaps the reason was she was still confused between her mouth and nose and where the food was supposed to go. But, it took an emergency room visit to surgically remove the raisin.

peanuts.jpegThey should ban raisins just like they do peanuts. While we are on the subject of peanuts, this was also a non-existent issue when I was growing up. Nobody I knew had an allergy to peanuts. There are teachers who now have to inspect their student’s lunches to ensure that there is nothing in their lunch box that includes any type of peanut based product.

Poor peanut butter. No more Pay Days. Trail mix? Forget it. Want some peanuts in the shell? You’ll be kicked out of school. I mean, I get the fact that a peanut allergy is serious business, but it wasn’t even a thought when we were growing up. Peanut allergies didn’t exist, so what the heck happened?

Do you remember your school lunches? If you say you had a hot lunch every day, don’tmetallunchbox bother responding. I want to hear from those who brown bagged it. I want shout outs from people who used to go to school with metal lunch boxes and a thermos. What was your best recollection of kid lunches? Best trades????

Leave a Reply

