A Random Act Of Kindness


I didn’t expect it, and it made my day.

My son and I went to a local grocery store, Mariano’s, near my home today. The news reports had indicated a “momentous weather event.” I guess that meant that we were going to have a lot of snow coming our way.

God forbid, I let my husband run out of Diet Coke.

We meandered through the aisles of the store and my son wanted to make an Amaretto Stone Sour–a concoction of Amaretto, sweet and sour mix, and orange juice.

I found two out of the three ingredients. The sweet and sour mix was MIA–not being the connoisseur of tending bar, I really didn’t know what I was looking for. And, as usual, I grocery shop deaf because the high ceilings and loud noises aggravate my vestibular dysfunction literally making me feel sick to my stomach while I stroll through each of the grocery aisles.

It was by chance I ran into a Mariano’s employee. I could tell she didn’t work in the liquor department when I explained to her what I was looking for. Her face went blank–just like mine is when someone is trying to talk to me and I can’t hear them.

Reading lips is always an option and I try my best to accommodate. I really hate frustrating people and just want to keep the conversation as simple as possible.

The employee from Mariano’s in Wheaton made my day.

When I explained to her that I couldn’t hear by using the ASL for “I am deaf”, I could see that she kept mouthing, “I’m so sorry. I’m so sorry.”  She then encircled her face; I didn’t know what she was referencing, explaining that I don’t understand ASL except for very elementary uses.

She asked for a pen.

I took a pen out of my purse and I gave her the back of my grocery list to write upon. She wrote:randomactsofkindnes

“You are so beautiful.”

I laughed out loud and gave her a huge hug. When my son approached us, I showed him the back of my grocery list.

He said, “I’ve known that all my life.”

A simple act of kindness can change your entire outlook on your day, your future; your life.

Thank you to the girl at Mariano’s. I implore people to always provide an act of kindness to strangers.

God is dressed in mysterious ways.

 

 

Leave a Reply

