Taylor Swift and Spotify


So, she pulled out the ear buds.

I say, good for her!

Listen, you all know I can’t articulate music. My head is stuck in the ’80’s, and when I want to listen to music, I turn on my husband’s old iPod down in our basement (after I wipe the cobwebs off of it). My brain picks up notes here and there and after a while, I remember the song–just enough time for it to go on to the next one.

Damn it.

I don’t know anything about Taylor Swift’s music. But, I do know a thing or two about free vs. not free. As the old saying goes, “Why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free?”

Note: My dad used to tell me this when I was in high school. This was code for don’t-give-your-body-away-to-some-asshole-you’ll-never-end-up-marrying.

Taylor used this old adage to her benefit because she realized that the majority of her listening audience were using Spotify, a free music taylorswiftdownload service, to listen to her songs. As a return on her hard work and millions of dollars it probably took to create an album, video, PR, marketing, blah, blah, blah, she receives less than one cent for each download.

I’d be pissed.

She was too, and removed all her songs from Spotify.

I mean, how would you feel if, for example, you posted some awesome photography online, and people took them down from your website and claimed them as their own? What about writing? Inventions? Stretch Armstrong? Amazing paper hats? Dog treats?

You get my point.

It’s the big rip-off. If people can get it for free, they will. I mean, why not? It means nothing to them–taking stuff that they want and using it for their own purposes; whatever that might be.

But, for those people who work hard for their money to provide endless entertainment, enjoyment, dancing in the streets, and crying jags until the wee hours of the morning for others, they’re out of luck.

Well, mostly money; which is the exact reason why they do what they do. They need to make a living just like you and me.

Like I said, I don’t know what Taylor Swift sounds like. I’ve only seen her doing interviews and lately helping contestants on The Voice produce moves like Jagger. I’ve read she’s a smart, young woman. She writes about her break-ups, and she doesn’t care what people think of her.

She’s a young woman with convictions. She has spent millions on making an album and she noticed she was getting ripped off.

Frankly, I hope other performers in the music industry follow her lead and do the same thing. Yeah, they might piss off their fans for a bit, but if their fans really miss their music, they’ll pay for it one way or the other just like they used to.

recordalbumsYa know what? Let’s go back to vinyl–it’s making a comeback. Supposedly, the music on a vinyl record is higher quality than what we’ve heard recently from downloads. I wouldn’t know, but when I see record stores popping up hither and yon–one even in my own little sleepy, small town–you know there has to be some value there.

I was stupid enough to get rid of my favorite albums growing up: Peter Frampton, Boston, Journey, ELO, Bee-Gee’s, Pink Floyd, and the Partridge Family among others.

Yes, the Partridge Family. I had a HUGE crush on David Cassidy.

Maybe I’ll find them in a record store, buy myself a turntable, and start playing albums again. Perhaps I’ll be able to articulate music again by listening through a different medium–until the album scratches and I have to tape a penny on the arm to jump the scratch.

What goes around comes around.

Leave a Reply

