Authors of Our Own Lives


I am not a believer in New Year’s resolutions. If I knew that New Year’s resolutions were provided with a 100% guarantee of coming through, I would look like Gisele Bundchen and live in Bali walking the beaches with my ten dogs.

There could be more to this dream sequence, but I don’t want to depress myself.

The problem with resolutions is that people take the wrong approach. I mean, resolving to quit smoking, lose weight, start a new hobby, be more friendly, yada-yada, are things that most people try to improve upon year after year and fail at it.

Why?

You struggle to maintain the resolution, but you’re not fully committing. Resolutions should really be called, Things I Value.

If they were called Things I Value, it would more likely cause someone to commit to what they should do. Creating value for ourselves by committing to something leads to something you probably wouldn’t have thought of:

Recreating yourself.

An example would be me. This is my blog, so I can use myself as a good measuring stick for you to relate to. I opted to create boundaries for myself in 2014. I figured out that I was being taken advantage of in a lot of ways–different methods of manipulation, greed, jealousy, and selfishness. It was making me sad, but I knew I had to figure out a way to stop it.

I mean, I didn’t want to live the rest of my life like that, would you? People controlling you with their brow-beaten ways can suck the life right out of you. The option I committed to focus on was creating boundaries for those who were making my life a living hell.

As I was creating my boundaries, I discovered more happiness in my life. I felt empowered, stronger. I had more energy and focused on things that made me happy rather than others.

I committed to keeping those boundaries and will continue to do so because it’s something I can put my weight behind; really focus on the positive aspects by keeping my boundaries in place to avoid letting the negative aspects enter my world.

This is all because I valued this thought. I wanted more than anything to shut out negativity in my life, and I have succeeded with wild abandon.

So, what do you value? What do you value so much that you can commit to it and not tumble back to think, maybe I was wrong…

Be the author of your own life. Fully commit to something you value and you won’t fail because if it’s something you truly value, it will be easy to succeed.

Leave a Reply

